Call us (24Hrs) 01493 748613
Understanding Grief: Navigating the Emotional Journey of Loss

Understanding Grief: Navigating the Emotional Journey of Loss


In the delicate journey of grief, Murrant Family Funeral Services stands as a pillar of support for families, offering guidance and assistance during their darkest hours. Grief is a complex and deeply personal experience, with each individual navigating its tumultuous waves uniquely. Our dedicated staff, available at both branches, provide a compassionate hand to hold through the entire grieving process, from the initial loss to the day of the funeral and beyond. In this article, we delve deeper into the stages of grief, shedding light on the emotions and challenges that accompany each phase, based on Kubler-Ross’ model of grief and loss, and how our team can help you through this difficult journey.

Kubler-Ross and the Model: Five Stages of Grief


Kubler-Ross and her groundbreaking model, often called the Kubler-Ross Change Curve or the Five Stages of Grief, have been instrumental in providing a framework for understanding the complex emotional journey that accompanies loss. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross was a Swiss-American psychiatrist and pioneer in the thanatology study of death and dying. Her work, notably outlined in the book “On Death and Dying”, published in 1969, introduced a structured approach to comprehending the various stages individuals typically go through when coping with grief. The model comprises five stages: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance, which have since become widely recognised as a valuable guide for professionals and those experiencing grief. 

At Murrant Family Funeral Services, we draw upon this model and our training to better support families during their bereavement journey, recognising that these stages offer a roadmap for healing and understanding in the face of loss.

Denial: The First Step

The journey through grief typically begins with denial. The initial shock when losing a loved one is often overwhelming, and accepting the reality of their passing may feel impossible. During this surreal “limbo” phase, our Murrant Family Funeral Services staff are here to provide a comforting presence. We understand that denial can cast a heavy shadow, especially as the funeral day approaches. That’s when our team steps in, offering unwavering support and guidance to help you navigate this challenging time.

Anger: A Natural Reaction

The second stage of grief often brings forth anger. It is entirely normal to feel frustrated and even angry about the loss. These emotions may be directed at the departed loved one, the circumstances surrounding their passing, or even yourself. During this phase, maintaining solid relationships with friends and family becomes crucial. Sharing your feelings and seeking solace in one another can help ease the burden. At Murrant Family Funeral Services, our staff is always available to lend a sympathetic ear and rest assured, all conversations with us remain strictly confidential.

Bargaining: A Desperate Plea

The model identifies bargaining as the third stage of grief, marked by a desperate desire to turn back time and make a deal with a higher power to reverse the situation. This phase can be incredibly challenging to navigate alone. That’s where support groups like our Solo Group come into play. These gatherings provide a safe space to share your struggles with others who have faced similar situations. They can offer invaluable support and guidance, helping you cope with the complex emotions that accompany this stage.

Depression: The Weight of Reality

Your grief may progress to the stage of depression, where the reality of your loved one’s absence becomes more pronounced, leading to deep sadness and despair. This is a time when the pain can hit especially hard. Taking care of your basic needs, such as eating and sleeping, becomes essential. At Murrant Family Funeral Services, we encourage families to take small steps and prioritise self-care. Contact friends, family, or our staff for support during this challenging phase. We are here to listen and provide the guidance you need to navigate the depths of grief.

Acceptance: The Healing Phase

The final stage of grief is acceptance, which doesn’t mean forgetting your loved one but instead integrating their memory into your life moving forward. You release feelings of regret, denial, and anger, making space for cherished memories and the love you shared. Your loved one forever holds a special place in your heart, and you learn to live with their memory differently. At this stage, connecting with like-minded individuals who have also reached acceptance can be immensely beneficial. You might find solace in offering support to others through bereavement or social groups, creating a sense of community and understanding.


Murrant Logo

Understanding grief is a complex journey, and knowing that it is a natural yet difficult process, our Murrant Family Funeral Services team is here to accompany you every step. Our compassionate staff, confidential support, and connections to groups of like-minded individuals can provide solace and guidance as you navigate the stages of grief.

Remember, while the pain of loss may never fully fade, it can transform into a source of strength and cherished memories, allowing your loved one to hold a special place in your heart forever.

latest posts

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *